Skip to content

Getting Involved with the UNA-SNY

October 26, 2012

By Jessica Davis, UNA-SNY member

New York is many things to many people, but for me it signifies one thing above all others – It is the home of the United Nations – the organization that has not just held my attention and interest for years but has also spurred me on to become the person I am today.  It has given me the desire to focus not only on home affairs but also to take an active role in what is happening outside of our borders. The UN is known to many around the world, however, for me, it not only signifies a united body for international politics and development, but is an organization where I can and want to see myself becoming increasingly involved.

This however is easier said than done with the UN. So I decided that this was a challenge not a problem and went about an approach that would both allow me to learn more about the work in which the UN and its affiliates are involved as well as provide me with a great opportunity to meet and greet people closely linked to the industry. This approach led me to become a member with the United Nations Association Southern New York State Division, where I was immediately invited to get involved in the UNA Women’s first advocacy conference call.  My involvement in this event led to my being invited to attend and report my overview to the Division’s Board.  This was a complete surprise, but one I relished in greatly. From here I was offered the opportunity to attend the Social Good Summit 2012, which I thoroughly enjoyed.

The Social Good Summit is a 3-day conference where big ideas meet new media to create innovative solutions. Being a relatively young individual who has grown up on social media, I believe in its benefits. Here, the most innovative technologists, influential minds, and passionate activists came together with a shared goal: to unlock the potential of new media and technology to make the world a better place, and translate that potential into action. Attending this event gave me insight of the UN, which at the same time was holding the General Assembly, and allowed me to speak to people promoting some of the side events that were taking place. This led me to become involved with one of these events: The Mission of Japan towards 2015 – Open Dialogue with The High Level Panel on Post 2015 Development Goals, which was incredible.  The next day, I went to a meet and greet with the first-ever U.S. Youth Observer to the UN and a group of others who are all actively involved with the UN and within my age group. I was able to listen and share my experiences with individuals who genuinely appreciate similar issues and experiences and I have the UNA to thank for this.

Jessica Davis has recently moved to New York.  She is completing her bachelor’s degree with a major in International Studies at California State College – Long Beach, and has recently completed a semester abroad at the University of London.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

